laszloinitalie.reismee.nl

Bo Rhap or Wish you were here, which band deserves its 40th anniversary?

I want to talk to you about two anniversary's. Two anniversary's of two bands of who I love the music, and of who I've merchandise.

As some of you know, I'm a huge Queen fan. Queen celebrated its 40th anniversary this year. The other band is Pink Floyd. At this point a poster in my room says 'Pink Floyd, 40th anniversary, still first in space.' As you can see, these are both bands from the past who have celebrated their 40th anniversary. To be honest, I've got some question marks due to these anniversary's. (I apologize for the fact that I use 'anniversary' so much, but right now I can't find a synonymous word)

You see, both bands have been struck by a couple similar, sad events. Both bands have lost a member due to death. And in both bands a member decided to leave the band. That both bands have been struck by death is tragic, but in my opinion there's a difference in the role that the leaving member plays. You see, Roger Waters left Pink Floyd due to creative disagreements. John Deacon left Queen due to the fact that he preferred to live a more silent life. Roger Waters decided to sue the three remaining members of Pink Floyd and wanted them to drop the name of the band, where John Deacon still is involved in decisions about new Queen productions and often approves them. I mean, Brian May en Roger Taylor are asking Deacon's opinion every time they want to make a new production with the name Queen. This production can be a recent documentary (Day's of our lives) or the musical 'We will rock you'.

So in my opinion you can still speak of an united front if you talk about Queen, where what once was Pink Floyd is as far apart as the former eastern- and western-front. Once in a while these two fronts will meet, see live8 and the concert of Roger Waters in Hamburg this year, but this will only happen after tough negotiations and the promise to pay each other back. So they are still not really doing each other a favor, Roger Waters and David Gilmore I mean.

Another big difference between the bands is that Queen, as earlier said, kept on producing. Even with different singers. I want to point you to their last album 'the Cosmos Rocks' (2008) It's different, not the Queen sound of the eighties, but there are still some things that remind you of them. The sound of Brian is still there, and the intro of the opening track 'Cosmos Rockin'' reminds me of the intro of 'One vision', and at the end of 'Still burning' you can hear the typical 'pam-pam-tap' of 'We will rock you'. All over you need some time to get used to it, but it's a great CD.

So if I put everything together, I think that the 40th anniversary of Queen is more justified than the same anniversary of Pink Floyd. This because the two remaining members of Queen are more active, and more united, also with the third non active member. Pink Floyd collapsed, the two former leading members are fighting a war, and will probably never play together again. They are not producing anymore, and basically their story is finished.

I know this is pointless, but I needed to fill up some spare time. So let me know what you think about it, could be interesting: Queen VS Pink Floyd. ;-)

By the way, did you know that the hardest part of writing a blog for me is to think of a title?

Bohemian Rhapsody- Hyde park 2005

Wish you were here - Live 8 2005

Say it's not true - The Cosmos Rocks 2008

Money - The dark side of the moon 1973

Reacties

Reacties

Aukje

Er staat een foutje in de titel. :p En ik mail je wel even, praat wat makkelijker dan via deze blog. :o

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!