laszloinitalie.reismee.nl

Memory Lane

So, once again it has been a couple of days. This time I have a valid reason though. My computer broke down. We've been able to fix it temporarily though. Then the next program showed up. As it turns out, the router that we use for our internet connection uses has a static ip-adress and the modem to which it's linked uses a dynamic ip-adress. I'm sure it's not completely right what I'm saying, but it comes down that we have to reset everything every two days. If we don't do that we'll lose connection. The only problem is that the modem is at the apartment of our landlord. So when he's not at home, we can't reset the modem. That can lead to, like in this case, the fact that we sometimes can't use the internet for a couple of days.

Also I've been writing for myself. The ship, that I posted earlier was one of those. I'm sorry to say that that's the only one you're going to see. The rest is mine (how do you type an evil laugh? Mwuahaha? something like that?)

It's strange to be honest. While I'm writing this I'm listening to a couple of musicals that I did in high-school. This was one of the few good things in the school. But anyway, it makes that I'm taking a small trip down memory lane. The rehearsal days that took way to long, christmas concerts, the shows of the musicals and as one of the coolest things, the project-day concert. Days that sometimes took 12 hours of rehearsing, but that were verry verry nice to do.

The people that have me known recently might need some extra explanation for these things. One of the teachers in my high-school started a musical group at the school exactly 10 years ago. Since then the group developped to circa 100 persons every production. I joined the fifth year, this was the first year that we performed in the city theater. The rehearsals that edition took the entire year with a couple of days that we had to practice between 10 am and 10 pm. Those are the rehearsal days that took way to long. Eventually the shows would come. Three shows with about 350 people showing up to check us perform Cats. That's really amazing.

In the third year that I joined we started an extra project, a christmas concert in one of the most beautiful churches of Amersfoort. We had one concert, and the church was packed! The acoustics were amazing and the Young Messiah was a great show to perform. This got turned into a new tradition at the school. Now they're performing in de biggest church in the city, just to try to fit everybody in.

My fourth year was the musical Chess. A musical that requested the best of our abilities as an orchestra, but also of the singers. The themes that were there were so complicated, and the rhythm would change so often in the most impossible times. I think we can still be really proud that we managed to pull that off. Maybe you can look up 'End game' at youtube. If I would have had an internet connection I probably would have sent you a link.

The same year we also had one day in which we sat down and rehearsed eight songs. We would have a concert in the evening. People could contribute to us and the benefits would go to a good cause. This day was one of the benefit days that the school does every year. For me it was an ultimate way to spend those days.

Why do I pay so much attention to the musicals? I got to know a lot of friends playing in the orchestra. We alway pulled it off. And we were named the best school orchestra of Amersfoort. So I got to know great people, and my self esteam got a boost now and then.

It strange how fast you forget how you disliked the school if you did things like this. The general feeling that remains of school is a good thing.

I realize I often feel like that. Something that I would hate on a daily base turns into something lovely as soon as I leave it behind. I think that's remarkable. Appearantly, when I look back I always look back at the good things. I forget the boring economy lessons, forget the fact that they assumed that I falsified an autograph of a teacher, with the consequence that I almost wasn't allowed to do my exams at school.

The things that remain are the musicals, the concerts, the christmas brunch where teachers make a fool out of themselves in their play. I remember saying to a friend last year, while we were watching het Bergfestival (annual talent show). 'That girl from the first year can sing, I think Esther should get her hands on her.'

Things like that almost want me to go back, though I know that I hated that place.

Anyway, I'll stop annoying you with this boring story. When I come up with something new you'll see it immediately (as long as I've got internet).

That's it for now.

Laszlo

P.S. Did you know that often get ideas to write while I am trying to fall asleep? Thursday I wrote two of the things that are ment for me at about 2 at night.

Reacties

Reacties

Eric

Ik ben eindelijk bij met het lezen van je blog, is er de laatste tijd niet echt van gekomen ;) Ik vind het wel knap dat je steeds inspiratie kan vinden om weer een verhaal te schrijven, om alles zo goed "op papier" te krijgen.
Misschien binnenkort een keer skypen? Kan ik gelijk de plannen voor 2012 horen. Tot gauw.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!